Select Page

For Immediate Release 

December 3, 2021

U Sports Canada Announced All-Canadian Roster

USports Canada Announces All-Canadian First and Second Team

Hamilton, Ontario – The 2021 Scotiabank Vanier Cup finalists Western Mustangs lead the way with 13 football all-stars as U SPORTS announced on Thursday its first and second team All-Canadians during the annual awards show in Québec City.

The Mustangs have the most All-Canadians with eight, including three first teamers. Western centre Elliot Beamer and receiver Savaughn Magnaye-Jones are first team All-Canadians on offence, while standout Deionte Knight earns a place on the first defensive team.

In total, 19 OUA players were named All-Canadian. Guelph had the second most players recognized behind Western with six total players being named to the team, including four All-Canadian First Teamers. The Waterloo Warriors had three All-Canadians led by Hec Creighton winner, Tre Ford. Queen’s Golden Gaels had two players named All-Canadian with star Running Back Rasheed Tucker being named to the First Team. 

Football Ontario is also excited for our five Team Ontario alumni who were selected as All-Canadian. Congratulations to Rasheed Tucker, Deionte Knight, and Daniel Valente for being selected as a First Team All-Canadian and to Keon Edwards and Zack Fry on being recognized as Second Team All-Canadian. To register for Football Ontario Futures and Identification Camps, the first phase of the Team Ontario selection process, CLICK HERE.

The Scotiabank Vanier Cup, presented by Levio is Saturday at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT on CBC TV and TVA Sports. Live streaming of the match-up between the Saskatchewan Huskies and Western Mustangs is also available on the CBC’s digital platforms (CBC Gem,, and the CBC Sports app) and on with a valid subscription.

First team All-Canadians


Center: Elliot Beamer – Western University (OUA)

Receiver: Savaughn Magnaye-Jones – Western University (OUA)

Quarterback: Tre Ford – University of Waterloo (OUA)

Running Back: Rasheed Tucker – Queen’s University (OUA)


Corner: Siriman-Harrison Bagayogo – University of Guelph (OUA)

Defensive End: Deionte Knight – Western University (OUA)

Line Backer: A.J. Allen – University of Guelph (OUA)

Free Safety: Daniel Valente – Western University (OUA)

Special Teams

Kick Returner: Kiondre Smith – University of Guelph (OUA)

Place Kicker: Eric Stranz – University of Guelph (OUA)

Second team All-Canadians


Guard: Phillip Grohovac – Western University (OUA)

Receiver: Kiondre Smith – University of Guelph (OUA)

Running Back: Keon Edwards – Western University (OUA)

Tackle: Zach Fry – Western University (OUA)


Corner: Tyrell Ford – University of Waterloo (OUA)

Defensive End: Anthony Federico – Queen’s University (OUA)

Half Back: Devynn Cromwell – University of Guelph (OUA)

Defensive Tackle: Malcolm Hinds – Western University (OUA)

Special Teams

Punter: Cole Crossett – University of Waterloo (OUA)


Aaron Geisler

Executive Director


ABOUT FOOTBALL ONTARIO: Football Ontario is the sanctioned provincial governing body for football in Ontario, through its focus on transparency, growth, alignment and excellence, is engaged in providing football opportunities for all of Ontario. Football Ontario is driven by a commitment to deliver football programming, opportunities and resources for its members and the provincial football stakeholders. Please visit: